Stumbling Through Bed Time Stories

I came across an article the other day about dads reading bed time stories and the benefits of that set up.  It was pretty reassuring.  Most nights I read the bed time story (or chapters of late) to the four year old.  The toddler is getting into the habit as well, but insists on flipping boardbook pages by himself so books go really fast.

I say most nights because nights like tonight pop up every so often.  Tonight, I may have my wife proofread this post, because words are not my friend right now and if I had read to the oldest this evening, I am pretty sure it would have caused irreparable damage to his budding language skills.

Right now we’re reading Dragon Masters again.  Fun story about a group of kids…mastering…dragons.  I told you words and I are not getting along.  One of the characters in the book is an old wizard with a long gray beard.  I do a mean impression of Deckard Cain from the Diablo series, so the wizard character get’s Deckard’s voice.  Thing is, I am pretty dang sick right now so with a scratchy voice and medicine head I am just stumbling over words that appear to be spinning on the page.

The first sentence of the chapter we began with this evening had the wizard talking about the main character’s dragon.  I added words, mispronounced words, and kept starting the dragon’s name with ‘the’.  I handed the book over to my wife, admitting total defeat.

Some nights go better than others.  I think his language development is still on track though.  My wife is getting a pretty good Deckard Cain impression going too.  Everybody wins!

Leave a Reply

