End of Project Recap: The Fletcher Family Problem

Earlier today, the final chapter of The Fletcher Family Problem went up.  I have to say I am happy to see the end.  I describe the story as Hatfields and McCoys, with a demon.  It was my first (likely only) venture into horror writing.  I got to write about zombies and betrayal, family and loyalty, and of course some zombies.  It was really fun to write.  It has not been widely read, but that’s ok.  I finished a project and I am so very pleased with that.

The story has forced me to think on why I enjoy writing.  There’s nothing particularly cheery about the tale.  The characters spend most of the book on a fetch quest.  Nothing ground breaking or really even difficult exists within the 14,000 words or so that make up the short story. Yet, in 14,000 words I got to create a character that I felt really bad for, for what was to come.

Writing this story I got to work on keeping things short, but still able to land a punch.  Readers of this blog will know that I am not one to waste an opportunity to use a word or two…or three extra.  I had one goal in mind with Fletcher Family Problem; write a short story that brought characters to life.  Being a horror story, once they were brought to life kill them off.

I write about plenty of new projects from serial starts to board game concepts.  Most of these go by the wayside, forgotten in the fervor of a new idea, a new story that just has to put down.  Not this time.  There were weeks between chapters (the first one went up in February!), and there were times I did not want to revisit the story.  Learning some new habits, finding a schedule and sticking with it really helped me finish this thing up though.

Up next are the edit, the format and putting it up somewhere so any interested parties can have a quick read in one sitting without navigating links that may or may not exists.  The tough part is done though and it feels awesome.

I highly suggest finishing whatever you might be working on.  It is a rush.

 

If you are interested in reading the story, follow these links:

Part 1 Part 2 Part 3 Part 4   Part 5  Part 6 Part 7 Part 8 Part 9 Part 10 Part 11 Part 12  Part 13

 

Leave a Reply

